On the Customer Portal, your Customer can update its payment information, but you may agree to let them remove its payment information as well.

This is not recommended in many cases, because it gives an easy way to let your Customer avoid paying the next term. Afterward, you might spent tremendous energy handly te recover your money from less honests customers.

But you value a more transparent and user-friendly approach, if your customers are a honest community that value your work, then you can display the Remove button in the Payment info section of the Customer Portal.

How to enable the Remove button

From the backoffice : Parameters / Segment Parameters / Hosted Pages

Just enable the option ‘Remove payment info’ button

Recommanded alternative

In the real world, the good reasons to remove payment information are rare.

If it’s for a termination, maybe your customer should have clicked the Terminate button instead ? Maybe he or she have missed it? Is the Subscription still under an engagement? Is it a devious attempt to suspend and return later with the same conditions?

In either case, you want to communicate with the Customer. To do that, we provide you a way, when the customer clicks the ‘Remove’ button, to redirect it to a given page of your site where you can display a customized message, display a form or open a live chat, as you feel comportable with.

From the backoffice : Parameters / Segment Parameters / URLs redirections / Hosted Pages

Set the URL of your customized page in the Payment Information / Removal field.

Notifications

If you have a specific workflow when a payment information is removed, you have 2 options URL redirection or webhook.

URL Redirection

An URL Redirection let you define a page where the customer is sent after removing its payment information. For example, you can redirect to the ‘remove my account’ page of your application, or to a page where he can switch to a free subscription.

From the backoffice : Parameters / Segment Parameters / URLs redirections / Hosted Pages

Set the URL of your customized page in the Payment Information / Removed field.

Webhook

The Webhook sent when a payment information is removed is Customer – updated payment info. Note that it’s triggered as well when a payment information is registered or updated. To distinguish the payment information removal, you should use this request to check the current payment information.